So, Is Grace the Place for my Face?

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fzachyounkin.com%2Fso-is-grace-the-place-for-my-face&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=450&action=like&colorscheme=dark&height=80
Is it?

Well, I just got back today from the Presidential Scholarship Competition at Grace. Here are my thoughts…

Sorry they are bulleted, that’s just how I think…

*There were some pretty smart people there… I really felt like I was outsmarted! <-Is that even a word?!?!

*I could easily see myself becoming the stereotypical private college student. Dressing in a polo with khakis. Easily me… Kinda scary actually… I don’t really want to become that…

*With this past weekend, Grace moved up a considerable amount. Before this weekend, it was 60% Grace 40% Wheaton. Now, I would say it is 85% Grace 15% Wheaton.

*I really feel comfortable there at Grace. It’s not really something I can put my finger on. All I know is that its a very “homey feel!”

*Long-Pong is an interesting game… I don’t think I would do too well at it though…

*Hmm…

*I really think that no matter where I go, I will be able to become the man that God wants me to be…
* That leads me into this…
During the essay I had to write for the PSC, I came to this revelation…
In Philipians 4:13, when Paul is talking about what he can do through Christ, we can claim that. We, as believers in Jesus Christ can (and should) recite the verse this way:
“I, Zachariah Alan Younkin, born to Bruce and Barbara Younkin on October 26, 1989 in Delaware, Ohio, CAN and WILL do ALL things in MY Lord Jesus Christ!”

I don’t know about you, but that really pumps me up. I can claim that! I CAN do ALL THINGS! It’s not that I can, but I WILL do all things through Jesus!!! Man!! What an amazing God we serve!!!

If I put a college in that statement, it doesn’t have the same feel:

“I, Zachariah Alan Younkin, born to Bruce and Barbara Younkin on October 26, 1989 in Delaware, Ohio, CAN and WILL do ALL things with my diploma from GRACE COLLEGE!”

or

“I, Zachariah Alan Younkin, born to Bruce and Barbara Younkin on October 26, 1989 in Delaware, Ohio, CAN and WILL do ALL things with my diploma from WHEATON COLLEGE!”

Coming to that realization, makes me understand that while college is a big decision, it is not nearly as close to my decision to trust Jesus Christ with my life.

I know that my God will keep me regardless of where I go. I know that I will continue to grow regardless of where I go. I know that my God will never leave me, no matter where I go.

PRAISE THE LORD!

**To my fellow competitors, good luck! May God lead you to the correct choice. Please remember that your identity is not found in how well you did this past weekend, but rather who you are in Christ. Keep that in the forefront of your head**

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in College for 10k and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So, Is Grace the Place for my Face?

  1. Brian Barnes says:

    Don’t worry about becoming a steriotypical christian college student. We won’t allow that here.

  2. Lindsey Eilbacher says:

    Wow! Thank you for posting this for others to read. Coming from the place of walking in your shoes just a year ago I remember many of the feelings you are describing. It excites me to see someone that has come to the solid conclusion you have about your identity in Christ. Thank you again for sharing the mighty ways God is working in your life, it is a great encouragement!

  3. Pingback: Year in review | College for 10k

Leave a Reply

