So, about college

Many of you have come here looking for this information about college.

But, this post is all about college.

Four weeks from tomorrow (Saturday the 13th of August we went loan shopping for college.

Little did we know that that would be the start of a fun and interesting two week period…

One week after that, there was a minor problem.  We got a letter from the company in which we applied for the loan.  We were excited, thinking that we were accepted for the loan.  Sadly, we were declined for the loan.  We really have no idea why.  I have fine credit.  My parents have fine credit.

In a rush of emotion, we quickly applied for a second loan.  That evening we went shopping for a few last minute items.  I headed to a close friends house that evening and God and I had a great heart to heart conversation.  That evening I started having some second thoughts about heading to Grace in the fall (really, that next weekend).

Then, on Sunday, I told a few people about the situation.  We prayed together.  There was shock.  There was disbelief.

Time goes on.

The week passes slowly, not really knowing what exactly is going to happen.

Thursday comes around.

Nothing in the mail.

My mind starts thinking: “What if we get rejected again?  What am I going to do then?”

I look into some local colleges here around Columbus.  Franklin University.  The Ohio State Buckeyes.  Branch Campuses of The Ohio State Buckeyes.  Columbus State Community College.

I checked the prices.  $79 per credit hour at Columbus State.  $4000 at OSU branch campuses.  $4500 at Franklin University.

Wow, all of those are much less than the $12000 that I was going to pay at Grace.

After a night of another heart to heart talk with God, I finally decided on Columbus State instead of Grace.

Friday, I called many of the most important people in my life to inform them of my decision.  We talked, talked and talked.  I was assured by them that I made the correct decision.  Being able to not have $12000 in loans for one year.  Being able to pay in cash for this year.

You want to talk about a real shock, there were some people that were really quite shocked when I told them that!!

So, here’s the details:

I am going to Columbus State Community College in downtown Columbus instead of Grace.

I am going to take most (if not all) of my classes online.

I am going to live at home this year.

I am in the process of buying a car for any travels that will need to occur for travel to and from Columbus State.

I am hoping to get plugged in to some type of leadership role with a small group at DGBC.

I have an interview Tuesday with Buehler’s for possible employment.

Well, there it is.  No Grace for Zach.

I will plan on posting my (hopeful) plans for the next three years next Friday.

Make sure that you Subscribe to Life of Younkin by Email

Thanks

Be sure to leave a comment with any thoughts at all…

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in College for 10k and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to So, about college

  1. Pingback: topwebbusinesses » Blog Archive » So, about college

  2. Juli Jarvis says:

    Sounds like you’re making some good decisions — and that God has closed and opened doors. You will find this throughout your life a LOT, and it’s OK to go with the flow with HIM! In fact, you will see how it all fit together when you’re in your 50’s (like me) and look back on things! I’ll be praying for you —

  3. paul daniel says:

    Hey, There’s still GRACE for Zach.

    Also, mercy. And love. And respect.

    All the above are FREE!!!!

    BTW I attended Grace and Columbus State and OSU and Cedarville for that matter. It’s all coooooool.

    The part i love is where you go have those long talks with Jesus.

    love. paul daniel.

  4. loan Holder says:

    Nice blog.Keep on going with good work.

  5. zachyounkin says:

    Thanks so much Paul for the encouraging words!

    They mean a lot!!

  6. Pingback: Year in review | College for 10k

Leave a Reply

