Need an issue in the world today to solve? Try poverty

Poverty.

Dictionary.com defines it as the following: the state or condition of having little or no money, goods, or means of support; condition of being poor; indigence.

Little or no money.

Little or no goods.

Little or no source of support.

Is it America?

For most of us, we have no idea what poverty is like.

I can’t imagine what living with little would be like.

Looking at us, here in America, we can do something to help solve poverty.

No, it’s not electing John McCain or Barack Obama.  While they may provide a possible solution to poverty, you (and I) can help solve poverty now.

Let’s see what the Bible says about poverty and what we, as Christians should do for poverty.

Take a look at these two verses.

The poor you will always have with you, but you will not always have me. -Matthew 26:11

“Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.'” -Matthew 25:34-40

There is always going to be people living in poverty and whatever you do for them you do for Christ.

If that is true, then what are you doing to Christ?

Are you giving a roof over Christ’s head?

Are you giving Christ an opportunity to become educated?

Are you giving Christ food to eat?

Are you giving Christ clothes to wear?

One opportunity to clothe, feed, and educate Christ is Compassion International.

For more information, check out Compassion International’s about us page.

And, if your ready to help children across the globe, be sure to sponsor a child today.

Also, be sure to click the button below to check out other people’s view on poverty across the world today.

Thanks!

Zach

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

