Remeber This

First off, let me say congratulations to Mr. President Obama.  I hope that you pick Godly men and women for members of your cabinent and follow through on the promises that you made while you were campaigning.

Also, I must say that John McCain gave a wonderful concession speech.  He really did a great job silencing the boo’s whenever President Obama’s name was mentioned.  He was very graceful.  He mentioned some very important things to remember.

One of my friends from high school, Larry posted this as his status on Facebook: “Well we got what we wanted. Do we want what we got?”  Very insightful.  Very good thought.  I guess we’ll find out in a few months…

Here is something to remember:

1.   The Bible will still have all the answers.
2.   Prayer will still work.
3.   The Holy Spirit will still move.
4.   God will still guide His people.
5.   There will still be God-anointed preaching.
6.   There will still be singing of praise to God.
7.   God will still pour out blessings upon His people.
8.   There will still be room at the Cross.
9.   Jesus will still love you.
10.   Jesus will still save the lost when they come to Him.

Isn’t it GREAT to know who is really in control?

I’m also reminded of a great hymn “In Christ Alone”.

In Christ alone my hope is foundHe is my light, my strength, my songThis Cornerstone, this solid groundFirm through the fiercest drought and stormWhat heights of love, what depths of peaceWhen fears are stilled, when strivings ceaseMy Comforter, my All in AllHere in the love of Christ I stand

In Christ alone, who took on fleshFullness of God in helpless babeThis gift of love and righteousnessScorned by the ones He came to save‘Til on that cross as Jesus diedThe wrath of God was satisfiedFor every sin on Him was laidHere in the death of Christ I live

There in the ground His body layLight of the world by darkness slainThen bursting forth in glorious DayUp from the grave He rose againAnd as He stands in victorySin’s curse has lost its grip on meFor I am His and He is mineBought with the precious blood of Christ

No guilt of life, no fear in deathThis is the power of Christ in meFrom life’s first cry to final breathJesus commands my destinyNo power of hell, no scheme of manCan ever pluck me from His hand‘til He returns or calls me homeHere in the power of Christ I’ll stand

I’m also reminded of another hymn, “My Hope is built”

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly trust in Jesus’ Name.

On Christ the solid Rock I stand,
All other ground is sinking sand;
All other ground is sinking sand.

When darkness seems to hide His face,
I rest on His unchanging grace.
In every high and stormy gale,
My anchor holds within the veil.

His oath, His covenant, His blood,
Support me in the whelming flood.
When all around my soul gives way,
He then is all my Hope and Stay.

When He shall come with trumpet sound,
Oh may I then in Him be found.
Dressed in His righteousness alone,
Faultless to stand before the throne.

Please, please, please remember this.  We do not depend on the country to provide for our needs, but rather Jesus Christ.

Remember that Jesus is still in control.

To anyone that reads this blog, please remember these things.

**Please note that the views expressed here on my website are views of the author, Zach Younkin, and are not the views of any organization, business, or churches mentioned in this blog either before or after this post**

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Remeber This

  1. Maddison Brown says:

    Very true Zach. Well put.

  2. zachyounkin says:

    Thanks Maddy!

    It just really bugs me how so many Christians think that the world is going to end just because Obama was elected.

    It’s okay everybody!

    GOD IS STILL IN CONTROL!

    Do I agree with all of Obama’s views?

    No.

    Do I agree with all of McCain’s views?

    No.

    Regardless of who would have been elected, I still would have posted this because people would be upset either way and would think the world would will come to an end.

    Remember, God is in control.

    Remember, God is bigger than the boogie man, regardless if you see the boogie man as McCain or Obama.

    God is still bigger than all of us and our problems.

    God is still in control.

    God still loves us.

    Do we believe those true and absolutely amazing statements?

    I struggle with it.

    I hope tomorrow I believe it stronger than today.

    I hope next month I believe it stronger than today.

    I hope that in six months, I believe it stronger than today.

    I hope that in a year, I believe it stronger than today.

    I hope I never give up believing in God’s love and power.

    And I hope you do the same

  3. A couple amen’s right there brother.

  4. zachyounkin says:

    Thanks Dave!

  5. Alex McCue says:

    Zach,
    I love the encouraging words and the affirmation of the Lord’s sovereignty over all this. It humors me as well, the Christians who think life is over……. I again quote one of the questions you have asked me many times, “Do I still believe God can change the world?”
    I sure don’t live out a lifestyle of that kind of faith (but hey that’s what the journey is about)
    I’m excited to see what the Lord has in store; for President Elect Barack Obama was not put into his position of authority without the Sovereign Yahweh putting him there (and my vote for him, haha)
    But thank you for bringing the focus back to the Lord and not our own agendas or selfish plans!
    May we be prayer warriors for our soon to be new president, and may our hearts be passionate about a Kingdom not of this world!
    Love you bro!

  6. Maddison Brown says:

    Again, right on. Amen!

    Romans 14:33 For God is not a God of disorder but of peace…

    I wish that everyone could keep this in mind, it is hard to remember in times of trials and disorder, but He really is!

Leave a Reply

