A thinker

John Reuben has always been one of my favorite artist.

He is a white rapper.

I am a white man (see my header if you don’t believe me…or if you are ever lucky enough, watch me dance 🙂 )

He is a great lyricist who writes lyrics that me think.

One song that has been on repeat on my iPod touch has been John Reuben’s song off of The Boy vs. The Cynic by the name of Cooperate.

Here are the lyrics that I just love…

“Lose the costume/The day’s of dress-up are gone/Time to join in and put a different outfit on”-Cooperate by John Reuben

Lose the “always happy costume.

Lose the “everything is okay” costume.

Lose the “I’ve got everything together” costume.

Lose the “I am holier than thou” costume.

Lose it…

…and don’t look back.

Let it go…

…and don’t grab back on to it.

Take it off…

…and don’t put it back on.

God gave you your personality because it is unique.

Take off the costume and live free.

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A thinker

  1. Juli Jarvis says:

    Love it! I agree so much — lose that costume, that plastic mask!

  2. camochica says:

    dude. hahaha so true! this made my heart smile. oh the wise words of a man named john reuben 🙂

Leave a Reply

