February Update

Seeing that this blog is my journey in getting through college with under $10,000 of debt, I thought I should share an update to keep myself accountable to you.

Credit Cards

Where I am:

Well, this is been an ongoing battle.  With my minor accident, I was unprepared to shell out the $350ish dollars to fix my car.  Unfortunately, I had to use my credit card to pay for the repairs.

My plan:

As I mentioned, I am reading through America’s Cheapest Family.  I just read through the chapter on debt and now have a plan.  I will be taking my balances and paying them off one by one.  I will tackle the cards evenly and once one car is paid off, I will take the money I was using to pay off one and put it on the other card.

Student Loans

Where I am:

Unfortunately, I did have to take out a loan to cover the costs for this year.  I am currently saving money, with the hopes of paying off nearly all of this years costs this summer.

My plan:

By keeping my hands off of the money in my savings account (and adding to it with each paycheck), I am on my way to getting my loans paid off by no later than the end of this year.

Making Money

Where I am:

I am still working at Buehler’s, and loving every minute of it.  While I have lost a few hours from one week to the next, I am still making enough to pay down my debt, while still stockpiling a bit of it.  Also, I am still working getting paid-to-read emails and I appear to be well on my way to my most successful year yet!  I’ll be posting an update next Saturday with current totals so you can see exactly how it’s improved.  While this is not making me money, I have been asked to blog over at DelawareO.com.  You can read an introduction and learn how Delaware has changed my mind.  I’ll be posting two times each month over there about college life here in Delaware.

Site News

I’m running two contests on my blog now.

By tweeting “Enter to win America’s Cheapest Family and $15 from zachyounkin just by tweeting this. Details at http://bit.ly/cBVHoY” you will be entered to win a book as well as $15.  You can get more info at America’s Cheapest Family

Also, if you have a blog, or are an affiliate for a product/company, I’m currently offering free advertisement.  All you have to do is write me a little something and you’ll be entered to get a spot.

Be sure to subscribe to College for 10k, follow me on twitter (@zachyounkin) and become a fan of College for 10k on Facebook (see badge below)…

10k College Degree

Promote Your Page Too

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in College for 10k and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to February Update

  1. Pingback: uberVU - social comments

Leave a Reply

