Haven’t I done this Before?

First off, I need to apologize for not writing on my normal schedule last week.  I haven’t been too good with my time management, but I sat down and gave myself a set schedule.  I’ll be back to posting on my Wednesday, Friday and Saturday routine from here on out.

Now for the important things.

No More Franklin University

I am lucky enough to have a professor that teaches at both Columbus State as well as Franklin.  We were discussing the way that classes are ran at Franklin and she let us know that:

  • Classes are sped up so that you can complete the class in about half of the time that you would at other schools
  • The class time is divided up into a 10-15 minute lecture with the rest of the class being group project/presentations

I know myself, and I know that I could not survive in that type of environment(see the two E’s (CSCC doesn’t give F’s) that I received in my online classes).  I need the professor to lecture.  I need the professor to be there to answer my questions.  After all, that’s why the professor is there, right?

So where are you looking?

Well, it seems like I’ve done this before.  I’ve gone from having my deposit paid at Grace (So, Is Grace the Place for my Face) to changing to CSCC with my sights on transfer out to Franklin (So, about College) and now I am at CSCC and looking at the following three schools:

  • OSU and/or OSU Marion
  • Miami University
  • Cincinnati

All three of those schools have good Schools of Business, which is important as I look to get into Accounting and Finance.

I’m at Square 1.5

With taking two years worth of classes (and this upcoming year), I will be looking for one of those before mentioned schools that can offer me the following:

  • The most transfer credits for the classes that I’ve taken
  • The most money (remember, my goal is to get through school with under $10,000)
  • The best opportunity for employment

Negatives of this news

  1. I’m going to have to be incredibly wise with my time as I look to make it through school with under $10,000 of debt.  Each of those schools cost around $10,000-20,000 a year.
  2. I will have to go longer than four years to school, which will make it more difficult to get through with under $10,000 of debt.

Positives of this news

  1. I will be able to attend some of the most prestigious Schools of Business in the Midwest
  2. I will be able to experience a new side of college
  3. I will be with friends at either of the three schools

What I’ve learned

Four years ago, I had my college choice narrowed down to three:  Ohio State, Grace and Wheaton.

Three years ago, I was all set on heading to Grace for four years.

Two years ago (give or take a few months), I was having second thoughts.

A year and a half ago, I decided to not go to Grace but go to Columbus State and transfer to Franklin.

Today, I am still at Columbus State, but not sure where I am going.

In the midst of all of this, I’ve learned that God is in control of it all.  I can make plans all that I want, but God will come in and change them in order to bring glory to His name.

As you look to your future, be flexible and let God work through you.

You won’t regret it.

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in College for 10k and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Haven’t I done this Before?

  1. Jesse says:

    "You can't always get what you want" right? 🙂 Keep it up, it will all be over before you know it, regardless of your decision
    My recent post Linkworthy: Simplicity, Ignorance, and Stay at home Moms

  2. Jesse says:

    "You can't always get what you want" right? 🙂 Keep it up, it will all be over before you know it, regardless of your decision
    My recent post Linkworthy: Simplicity, Ignorance, and Stay at home Moms

  3. Jesse says:

    "You can't always get what you want" right? 🙂 Keep it up, it will all be over before you know it, regardless of your decision
    My recent post Linkworthy: Simplicity, Ignorance, and Stay at home Moms

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention College for 10k | Blog | Haven't I done this Before? -- Topsy.com

  5. It will all work out my friend
    My recent post Uncommon Money News (Vol. 92)

  6. It will all work out my friend
    My recent post Uncommon Money News (Vol. 92)

  7. It will all work out my friend
    My recent post Uncommon Money News (Vol. 92)

Leave a Reply

