How I Got Through College With Little Money

I didn’t want to go to college. I didn’t prepare for it in high school either. I chose to train for office work through my high school’s stenography class (this was not through a vocation school, btw). And so my junior and senior year of 1988 was spent learning word processing, typing, short-hand and more. I wanted to be an…office girl!

So, I got my “dream” job…well, that might be a stretch actually. But I became an “office girl”.  Actually, it was such a small office that I was the ONLY office girl. I was THE office girl of a garbage REFUSE business. Sounds better that way 😉

Well,  fast forward about a year. I wasn’t liking it so much. I bailed.  I did some odd jobs like travel to South Carolina to work with my dad and brothers  under the Army Corp of Engineers to clean up the devastation that Hurricane Hugo left, later I delivered pizzas, started college at a technical school and then transferred to Liberty University.

Eight years later, I graduated with a Bachelor’s of Science degree in Interdisciplinary Studies (related to psychology and educational ministry) which was a four. year. degree.  That was a long eight years of good times, hard times, and growing for sure.

See, my parent’s couldn’t afford college for me and I was the oldest of 9 kids.  The prospect of college wasn’t looking too bright for the younger one’s either, huh? Remember that when I get to the end. A bit of irony comes in to play.

So for the next eight years I went to school full-time, part-time, worked, didn’t work, lived on campus, lived off campus, Clepped out of classes, took week long intensives, supplemented my degree with community college and finally finished the last stretch at home through Liberty’s home program (because I moved back home to Ohio). This was a time when you used video tapes and proctor’s.  “Nowadays” we have online courses.

Bottom line, I got through college (paying for it, that is) on post-dated checks, any grants or scholarships I could get, and loans (and as a Christian might I add – the grace of God). Fortunately I did not have to take out a ton of money in loans.

Yes, its possible to get through school with little. It will probably be hard, but it can be done. There were timesI wavered, thought about quitting. Probably did quit once or twice come to think of it, but in the end I did finish.

My only regret regarding college now might be that I didn’t pick a very good income producing degree. Knowing what I know now, I think I could have probably gotten interested in something that would have a better return on investment. At any rate, I’m happy that I finished and have a degree period. And not to be knocked is the experience that moving away to college provided for me.

Oh yeah and for the ironic part. After all we had to do to get me through college, my dad’s VA benefits finally kicked in for several of my younger siblings and they got to go to Ohio colleges tuition-free. Go figure.

The above is a guest post by Tracy Zdelar.  Tracy is now happy to be a work from home Christian mom and wife, professional blogger and more. You can find out more at her blog Hall of Fame Moms.


Hall of Fame Moms

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in College for 10k and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How I Got Through College With Little Money

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention How I Got Through College With Little Money -- Topsy.com

  2. Terry says:

    Sure, it's possible, if you get grants and scholarships. I graduated in the top 5 percent (grades and test scores) of my high school class, and all I got was a New York State scholarship with a whopping $100 per year for books, and that was only if I went to a college in New York (I didn't).

    I lived in a dysfunctional family situation in (high cost of living) NYC with lower middle class relatives who made too much money to get grants.

Leave a Reply

