Complete Joy

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fzachyounkin.com%2Fcomplete-joy-2&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=450&action=like&font=trebuchet+ms&colorscheme=dark&height=80

As I mentioned yesterday, I am taking the blog in a new direction.  A direction that I haven’t tried before, but hope will be equally successful.

When I first started blogging back in 2007, I was a junior in high school who had no idea what exactly I was doing.  All I knew was that my youth pastor had a blog (and guess what, he still has one Footnotes to a Great Story), and daggonit I wanted one as well.

My very first post (Wondering Wyatt), to this day I think is the best post that I ever wrote.  I talked about my favorite camper when I was working at Recreation Unlimited and seeing him as God sees us.  If you haven’t read it, give it a read.  I don’t want to give it all away…

At @delawaregrace, we are in the process of going through the book of 1 John.  The first four verses read:

1From the very first day, we were there, taking it all in—we heard it with our own ears, saw it with our own eyes, verified it with our own hands. 2The Word of Life appeared right before our eyes; we saw it happen! And now we’re telling you in most sober prose that what we witnessed was, incredibly, this: The infinite Life of God himself took shape before us.

3We saw it, we heard it, and now we’re telling you so you can experience it along with us, this experience of communion with the Father and his Son, Jesus Christ. 4Our motive for writing is simply this: We want you to enjoy this, too. Your joy will double our joy!

How does that apply to my blog?

Look at verse 3 in particular:

3We saw it, we heard it, and now we’re telling you so you can experience it along with us, this experience of communion with the Father and his Son, Jesus Christ

I have seen the way that Jesus can transform lives.  I have heard the stories of lives that have been changed because of a realization of God our Creator.  And now I am telling you, so you can experience the transformation along with me.

And also verse 4:

4Our motive for writing is simply this: We want you to enjoy this, too. Your joy will double our joy!

My motive is simple.  I want you to enjoy the Christian life.  Seeing the joy in your lfie, will double my joy.

Here’s what you can now expect from this blog:

  • Issues of sin
  • Forgiveness through Grace
  • Living as a Christian through the 21st-Century
  • Thoughts on sermons, youth group gatherings, communities
  • Book reviews

I understand that not all of you that were reading College for 10k will stick around.  I respect that and understand that this is a dramatic shift in topics.  I never want http://zachyounkin.com to be a place where you feel that I am trying to shove my beliefs down your throat.  My desire is to bring you real life examples of how Jesus has transformed my life and the lives of those I come in contact with and, as a result, you will “experience communion with the Father and his Son, Jesus Christ.”

Grace and Peace –

Zach

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Complete Joy

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Complete Joy -- Topsy.com

  2. Car Coach says:

    Hey Zach- Congrats on the new direction. Should be very interesting and I'm sure it will work out great. I'll keep reading!
    My recent post Win 200 Worth of Car Buyer Coaching Sessions

Leave a Reply

