NO!

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fzachyounkin.com%2Fno&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=450&action=like&colorscheme=dark&height=80

There’s a two letter word that carries so much power.

It can be the difference between having a good night or a bad one.

It can be the difference from going to one college or going to another.

It can be the difference from having a date to prom, or not.

It’s a word that I cannot stand.

NO!!

Saying it.

Hearing it.

I discussed my fear of the word no over a year and a half ago.  Here’s a little snippet:

I was sitting in the waiting room of our doctor’s office last spring having a conversation with a family friend that we have known for a long time. They actually were the ones that sold our old house and helped us find the one we are in now (not that it really matters to the story at all). Anyhow, she was asking me where I was going to go to school and she told me about her son. Her son went to Ohio University for Film Studies and after one quarter, decided that it was a waste of his time and money. He was answering questions that the professor couldn’t answer.

So, he lived with the mantra that the worst thing anyone can say to you is no. He started at on a few local jobs and eventually made it to the top of the filmmaking world, working with Spielberg and other influential filmmakers.

That just floors me. When you think about the truth behind it, it’s full of it. All they can say is no. Sure, you might lose some money (application fee for a college, gas money, plane ticket, etc) or friends, but that’s all you can lose.

You’re still a human being. You’re still alive. You still have the support of your family (hopefully).

Why don’t I live like that more often?

Because I’m afraid.

I’m scared of what others might think of my decision.

I’m scared of how it could affect my future.

I’m afraid of the word no.

I don’t want to use it…

…and I definitely don’t want to hear it uttered to me.

I’m afraid of rejection.

from My Motto's
Am I the only one that struggles with this?
About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity, Study. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NO!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention NO! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

