I've got a little bit of a weight problem

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fzachyounkin.com%2Five-got-a-little-bit-of-a-weight-problem&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=450&action=like&colorscheme=dark&height=80

One of my favorite movies to this day, is Tommy Boy.  if you guys know me, you know about my large body size. as Chris Farley said in “Tommy Boy”, “I’ve got a little bit of a weight problem.” While I realized this all throughout my life, it wasn’t until last summer that I realized that I needed to do something drastic to combat it. before we get to last summer, let’s see how I got to where I am.

I was born on October 26, 1989 weighing in at 10 pounds six ounces. I was a big baby!! From there, I never did lose any of that baby fat. All throughout elementary school, I was the fattest kid, with nicknames such as jelly roll or jelly legs. It wasn’t until just recently that I realized how hurtful those words are. I was to stupid to realize it then.

As any middle-schooler does, I started to see myself as the guy I was. I finished an entire pizza in one sitting. I would go back for seconds…for thirds…even for fourths if it was good enough. I continued at this deadly rate until my sophmore year of high school.

High School

In my sophomore year, I took the required health class, not looking forward to it at all. Little did I know, but it would end up saving my life. We watched “Supersize Me” (which you should watch if you haven’t yet) and I was blown away by the effects that eating McDonalds can have on your body for thirty days straight. While I didn’t eat at McDonalds for every meal, I did eat school lunches every day and was still eating multiple helpings of my favorite foods.

Once I realized how unhealthy my habits were, I changed the easiest one, school lunches. In the one week after quitting school lunches, I dropped 10 pounds.  Yep, 10 pounds in one week and all I changed was my diet.  I continued to change my eating habits and by the time I graduated, I was down to about 280, losing about 40 pounds in just two years.

I was pumped to head to Grace for college, so that I could work out in a gym for free.  As I have mentioned multiple times here on the blog, I was unable to attend.  That left me at Columbus State Westerville campus.  On numerous drives home from evening classes, I would stop at Arby’s and pick up a roast beef sandwich and fries.  Unfortunately, I was unable to control that and I put on 20 of those 40 pounds that I lost, right back on…

Summer of Change

That brings us to the summer of 2009.  A constant theme in sermons, Bible studies and discussions that I heard and was a part of, was that of honoring your body in every aspect of your life.  As I considered my own life, the biggest area (no pun intended) was that of my weight.

At 290 pounds, was I honoring God?

Could I do the things that God may call me to do?

How could I improve so that my life is a living sacrifice?

In discussing this with Dave, we decided to both change for the better.  We didn’t do anything serious until April 5, 2010.

It’s go time!

Dave and I started P90X on April 5, 2010.  I wasn’t prepared to work out like that.  We completed about 80 days of the P90X and ended up with awesome results.  In those 2.5 months, I was able to drop 20 pounds.  The biggest improvement wasn’t the weight I lost (though I was really impressed by that), but the thing I am proudest about is my pant size reduction.

When I started P90X, I was wearing a size 46.  Now, after completing P90X and beginning to train for a 5k, I can now fit into size 40.

Where I want to go

When I look back at where I have been, I know for a fact that I am never going back.  I am running with the goal of running the Race for the Jug.  I will be losing another 20 pounds and I will be sitting at 250 pounds, 70 pounds from my high.

I’m never going back, will you keep me honest?

Links of importance:


About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity, Study. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I've got a little bit of a weight problem

  1. Pingback: A Look Ahead

Leave a Reply

