Delaware

http://www.facebook.com/plugins/like.php?href=http%3A%2F%2Fzachyounkin.com%2Fdelaware&layout=standard&show_faces=true&width=450&action=like&colorscheme=dark&height=80

I’ve come to the realization that I’m a midwestern boy.  I’m not cut out to live on either of the coasts, but rather love the flow of the cities here in the Midwest.  It’s been a battle for me, but I can even go as far as saying that I can live in Delaware county for the rest of my life.  Here’s some thoughts on why Delaware can be my home (but why I must be willing to change)

My Involvement at Delaware Grace

The more time I spend here in Delaware, the more that I realize how sweet it really is.  When I look at my involvement at Delaware Grace, I am becoming more and more aware of how God is using the people of the church (and the church as a whole), to reach Delaware, Ireland, Central African Republic, England and Trinidad, among many other places across the world.  I’m excited to see the increased involvement of the body donating time, money and possessions to those around the community.  I love hearing stories of teens lives that are changing because of their realization that God is who He says he is.  I love seeing people respond to needs in whatever way that they are most able.  I am proud to be a member of a church that is willing to respond to the needs of the community.

The Near Future

As I look at the next 3-5 years, I can’t see myself leaving Delaware.  I will be finishing this year at Columbus State Community College and then looking to transfer into Ohio State and take classes at both Marion and main campus.  Delaware is a perfect half-way point between the two campuses.  Also, I still have about 18 months on my lease on an apartment that I’m sharing with three other awesome guys.  It’s been great.  I’m glad to be living with guys that are willing to have an incredibly awesome, fun time, but also able be honest with each other.

Long-term

I have absolutely no idea what the rest of my life looks like.  I’m okay with that.  However, I feel comfortable with calling Delaware my home for the long-term because of the opportunities that it presents.  By graduating in December 2013 at the latest with an accounting and finance degree the number of opportunities that I have in the area are plenty.  With Insurance companies (Nationwide, American Family, State Farm), Financial instituations (Chase, PNC, Huntington), and numerous other businesses (Max & Erma’s, White Castle, Wendy’s, Abbot Foods) headquartered nearby, the job opportunities should be plentiful for me.  On top of that, the economy here in Central Ohio, compared to many other regions, is not nearly as bad.

There is one issue that I fear I may come across:

Becoming Too Comfortable

Living in Delaware for the first 21 years of my life has allowed me to experience Delaware in many different ways.  I feel that I’ve done about all I can do to experience Delaware.  I’m afraid that because of my knowledge of Delaware, I may become to comfortable and lose my desire to do big things.  I’m afraid that I would lose my passion.  I feel that I may not be challenged because I would be familiar with the people in Delaware, the problems in Delaware and all of the solutions in Delaware.

I don’t want that to happen.  I must know that God is bigger than my plans and that he will place me where He wants me, not necessarily where I, want to be.  I must rest in the fact that God is God and I am not.

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Delaware

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Delaware -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

