What I’ve learned…

I’m lying here in my bed at the apartment for the last time.  That’s right, I’m moving out. I’ve moved all of my stuff and I’m moving back in with my parents.  It’s been a great 15 months living on my own and I realize that I have learned a ton about myself.  Can I have your eyes for a bit?

I’ve learned…

  • …that I don’t have to spend every dollar that I make on dumb things.  Since I’ve moved out and gained the responsibility of rent, I’ve had to cut back on some of the things that I was spending money on unnecessarily.  Eating out at least once a week?  No need for that!  Spending money on buying movies?  Nah, that’s what Netflix is for.  Buying cd’s?  Spotify anyone?
  • …that life is more than video games with friends.  It is vital that you turn off the game and spend some quality time with one anotherWhat is God doing in your life?  How have you seen His hand at work?  What are you struggling with?  How can I pray for you?  These questions can be asked much easier when Call of Duty or Halo isn’t being played.
  • …that all of those blog posts about living at home as long as you can are true.  I thought that being independent was something that I just had to do after two years of college.  Man, was I wrong!  Coming to the realization of how much my parents have done (and continue to do) makes me love and appreciate them even more!
  • …that paying off debt while in college is possible and should be done.  Taking the money that I am paying currently in rent and applying that to my student loans will do wonders to free me up to be able to do what God wants after I graduate. (For more on this, see Why so Little Debt?)
  • …that youth ministry is one of both extreme pain and extreme joy.  Seeing lives transformed by the power of God is something that I always want to be a part of.  Seeing lives torn apart by sin is so incredibly hard.  When students turn from the truth and run the opposite direction, there is nothing more painful.
  • …that prayer is a powerful tool.  I was able to take part in a prayer meeting for both Winter Camp and Operation Everything.  Seeing God at work at both events (and continually seeing him working based on those decisions) is such an encouragement.  PRAY BIG PRAYERS!  GIVE GOD A CHANCE TO WORK!

I feel that these are just a few of the incredibly things that the good Lord has been teaching me while I’ve been out on my own.  I look forward to this next school year.  God is going to be doing great things!

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

