Empty Promises

Human beings are created for worship.  The question is not if we will worship, but what we will worship.  This is the basis of Pete Wilson’s new book, Empty Promises.  The basic idea of this book is to point out the idols in our life that we so easily (and so often accidentally) substitute for genuine trust in God.  Wilson explores how to identify your idols (yep, we all have them) and get yourself back on track.

Though I haven’t read his first book, Plan B, I am intrigued to read it.  The pace of this book was very easy going.  It seemed like Pete and I were sitting over coffee discussing how to trust God more and identify my idols.  When you consider the idols that you may have, a few come to mind. Putting career before faith or being obsessed by physical beauty.  You also want to check out some of the underlying issues as well.  Dissatisfaction.  Frustration.  Heartbroken.  Exhaustion.  Burnout.  Denominations.

Giveaway:

If you are interested in receiving a copy of this book all you need to do is tweet the following message

  • You can tweet the following message: “I just entered to win Empty Promises by Pete Wilson from @zachyounkin. #giveaway http://bit.ly/LgsH2j”

Once you do that, please comment with a link to your tweet!  Thanks!  You have until 9 a.m. on Saturday, June 9th!  You can enter as many times as you want!

You can earn a bonus entry by repinning this pin. Please only do this once.  Thanks!

Disclaimer:

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity, Media, Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empty Promises

  1. Pingback: Book: Empty Promises by Pete Wilson | Giveaways Are Sexy

  2. Kelli says:

Leave a Reply

