Personal Update

I want to take some time and just do a little mind dump here.

Ever since O.E., I’ve been wrestling through who I am and what the rest of my life is going to be like. To be honest, I wasn’t sure what direction that I was going to. I wasn’t sure about a lot.

In times of uncertainty, I’m so grateful for a God who never leaves.

In times of uncertainty, I’m so grateful for spiritual truths found in scripture.

In times of uncertainty, I’m so grateful for people who speak truth into my life.

In times of uncertainty, I’m so grateful for honest, real, worship music.

Two of the podcasts that I frequently listen to have been going through Ephesians 1. In that chapter, Paul is discussing the fact that we do nothing to earn God’s love, grace and mercy. It all starts in the very first verse:

Paul, an apostle of Christ Jesus by the will of God, (Eph. 1:1)

Paul, is only an apostle because it is the will of God.  Paul did nothing.  As a matter of fact, Paul should have been the last person chosen by God.

I should be the last person chose by God.

But I Paul wasn’t.

I wasn’t.

even as he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. In love he predestined us for adoption as sons (Eph. 1:4-5)

He chose Paul before the foundation of the world.

He chose me.

That is Good News!

He chose us before the world was created that we should be holy and blameless.

Why?

…to show off how great we are?

…to show how we have it all together?

No!

He chose us to bring Him glory! (Eph. 1:6)

Thank God for that!!

I’m not that great.

I don’t have it all together.

I am a mess.

But God still chose me!

I am loved!

God’s grace has never been about you.  It’s never been about me.  God’s grace is all about Him.

Friends –

This world we live in will tell us all types of lies and half-truths.

Know this:

In Christ, you are loved.

Ephesians 1 are promises for you, brother and sister.

Rest in them.

Find joy in them.

About Zach Younkin

I'm currently enrolled at Western Governors University, pursuing my degree in Accounting. I'm hoping that this blog provides you with some encouragement to be what God has promised you. This blog collects dust, which is unfortunate. Keep your eyes open for some sporadic blog posts. I spend more time on Twitter, so go follow me there. @zachyounkin
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

